Every once in a while a book comes along that makes so much sense that I feel the need to share it.  This morning, since Little Bear decided to wake me up at 6:30, I read the book Wheat Belly: Lose the Wheat, Lose the Weight, and Find Your Path Back to Health. This book really helped me understand some health issues I have been dealing with lately. I think it is one of those books I will continue to read periodically to remind myself to stay the course on my wheat-free eating!

     About a year ago, I was having some major afternoon energy crashes. After doing some research, I decided to give up refined sugar. That was an accomplishment I never thought would be possible, but I did it, and I was starting to feel better! I was still having stomach aches after eating, so I decided to try giving up gluten. Then I really started to feel better, and even starting losing some weight (not my intention, but a welcome change!). After months of eating mostly grain free I occasionally reverted to eating foods with gluten. Sometimes I felt fine afterward, sometimes I didn’t. But if I continues to eat that way, I always ended up with what felt like food poisoning. I went to the doctor, but they could not figure out what was wrong. Deep down I knew it was the gluten (specifically wheat)- I just didn’t want to admit it. Buying premade foods is SO much easier! Five “food poisoning” spells later, I’m done with wheat!!! Reading this book has cemented the need to stay away from wheat!

     Wheat Belly  was written by a man who had to struggle with health issues of his own before he realized that taking wheat out of his diet solved his problems. There are three main parts to the book. The first part goes into details about the science behind wheat and how it has evolved from wheat that was eaten years ago. Part two talks about all of the health issues associated with a diet that is high in wheat. Part three explains how you can take the wheat out of your diet and gives you a sample of what a weekly menu may look like. There are also some delicious recipes in the back of the book. I was so excited to see they are coming out with the Wheat Belly Cookbook: 150 Recipes to Help You Lose the Wheat, Lose the Weight, and Find Your Path Back to Health! Looks like it will be out in time to be a perfect Christmas present!

     If you have ever dealt with any unexplained health issues or just want to feel better and have more energy, I strongly urge you to read this book. The author suggests trying a wheat-free diet for four weeks to see if you feel any better. You have nothing to lose! Best health to all of you!

