Tasty Tuesday: “Apple Cake”

After a long blogging break filled with planning for next school year, prepping our curriculum (I just finished our Earth Science/ Astronomy), and planting our garden, I am ready to get back into it! I have decided to try something new, too! It has been about 2 years since I started eating refined sugar, gluten-free, and mostly dairy free- and it has been great for me. I feel so much healthier and don’t have to deal with poor health issues. The last time I had any time of illness was over a year ago and I credit that to healthier eating. My goal now is to help others realize how much of an impact food can have on their bodies, and understand that healthy food can be delicious!

After much anticipation, Azure Standard has started a delivery route to Ohio through Covenant Ranch trucking. This has made it so much easier to find healthy and affordable ingredients to cook with, even on a special diet AND a budget. So every Tuesday (hopefully!) I am going to feature a recipe from the internet that we have tried and enjoyed. With ingredients from Azure the cooking possibilities will be endless!

This week, since it was Grandma’s birthday, we made her this delicious Apple Cake from http://www.deliciouslyorganic.net. Doesn’t it look fantastic?! So delicious. There were only two thing I changed from the original recipe. One was using 3/4 C. applesauce + 3/4 C. coconut oil instead of 1 & 1/2 C. coconut oil. I also used maple syrup instead of honey just because that is what we had on hand (soon I will be attempting the cake using coconut sugar as the sweetener).

100_1389

Here are the ingredients that can be purchased through Azure:

Honey
Eggs
Coconut oil
Coconut milk
Almond flour
Coconut flour
Unflavored gelatin
Baking soda
Celtic sea salt
Ground cinnamon
Vanilla extract
Fuji apples (these apples are great!)
Shredded unsweetened coconut
Pecans

So all of the ingredients are available through Azure, and I don’t even have to wait in line at a store! Stay tuned for more delicious recipes and if you haven’t already, I highly recommend you look into Azure Standard:)

