Tasty Tuesday: Puffed Pancake

100_1437

Today’s recipe is my go-to for a last-minute, super easy breakfast for this kids. This puffed pancake is what I make when I run out of time the night before to make a breakfast. If Caspian liked eggs more, I would probably be making this at least once a week (so hard to please everyone!). The original recipe can be found here on one of my favorite blogs for gluten-free, dairy-free, and refined sugar-free foods: The Spunky Coconut. The only thing I changed is how I put the recipe together. A few years ago my wonderful husband blessed with my very favorite kitchen appliance: a Vitamix blender. It has made kitchen prep so much easier! And with recipes like this one I can just throw everything in the blender and it is done! Isn’t he wonderful?! Here are the ingredients, which can all be found through my favorite co-op…Azure Standard.

1/8 tsp sea salt
1 tsp cinnamon
1/4 cup tapioca flour (I have also successfully substituted with arrowroot powder)
Isn’t that a nice and simple ingredient list? I usually double the recipe and keep the other half in the refrigerator until the next morning. I bake this in my Cast Iron Skillet. Preheat the oven to 500 degrees and put your oven safe skillet in there to heat up too. When the oven is ready put a small scoop (maybe about 1 tbsp. or 2) of coconut oil in the bottom of the pan. Add the batter and put it back in the oven for about 10 minutes until it is light golden brown (and nice and puffy!). Couldn’t be easier! You can top it with just about anything. We have tried fruit that has been warmed up on the stove top with some coconut oil and cinnamon, but the kids like it with maple syrup too. Any way you have it is great. With this breakfast the kids actually stay full for a while. So if you are looking for something simple but delicious for breakfast, give this a try!
One thought on “Tasty Tuesday: Puffed Pancake

Comments are closed.