102_1456

Who wants to have summer without ice cream?! Not me! But since I do try to keep dairy to a minimum, finding dairy free ice cream can be so expensive. The solution…make my own! There are several recipes online (I have few on my Pinterest boards under the GF/DF desserts section) but I was so blessed to receive an entire book dedicated to dairy free ice cream from my mom for my birthday! Just looking through the book I KNOW we are going to have a summer full of delicious treats! Wondering what the book is? The Spunky Coconut Dairy-Free Ice Cream Cookbook!

The first ice cream we made was the Mint Chocolate Swirl Ice Cream. Since the recipe is copyrighted I can’t share the measurements with you, but rest assured all of the ingredients can be easily obtained through my favorite co-op, Azure Standard. Here are the ingredients:

hemp milk

coconut milk

chocolate chips

honey

vanilla extract

peppermint extract

guar gum

So if you are in need of a dairy-free ice cream alternative, or you just want to add a healthy variety to your frozen desserts, I really recommend checking out this cookbook. We will be busy this summer trying many more of these recipes!

