FittingintheExtras

If you are anything like me, you may have some trouble fitting in everything you want to teach your children. There are so many great and worthwhile subjects to teach, but it is just hard to schedule it all!

For a while I have wanted to do an artist/composer study with my children, and a hymn study, and add in more geography, and teach more about health, and do more interactive notebooking, and…! Do you see my problem?

I always want to do more, but don’t want to overwhelm my children with school work 14 hours per day for 6 days a week! School work is a delicate balance here. If we do too much I lose their attention, if we don’t do enough then I feel I am short-changing them. So what is the answer? Set up a rotation!

With subjects that are “extras” it is pretty easy to just work them on a rotation. These different subjects do not take a huge amount of time to cover…probably between 15-30 minutes (depending on how much time/interest we have in that particular subject). This way we are able to cover 5 different subjects that would otherwise be completely left out of the schedule.

It doesn’t have to be all or nothing when it comes to these extras. In the coming weeks I will go into detail of what we use for each subject and how I schedule them, but here is what our rotation will look like.

Monday– Hymn study, Route 66 (study 1 book of the Bible each week)

Tuesday– Health, literary elements

Wednesday– Geography

Thursday– Composer/Artist study, music theory

FridayInteractive notebooking

I am so excited that we will finally be able to add all of these into our school day! Stay tuned for the specific plan of each day’s work (what we will use and how we will schedule it).

