49740_campfire_sm
During our latest impromptu kitchen remodel I was left in quite the predicament. Normally I am a planner; I like to have everything planned down to the last tiny detail. Well, I really dropped the ball on this one. In my mind moving our stove out of the kitchen to lay the ceramic tile would not be a big deal. I would just plug it into the outlet in the dining room, right? WRONG!

Why did I not think about the special 3-pronged cord the stove had?! Because of my lack of thinking things through I was left for several days without an oven or a stove top, or even access to most of the kitchen. Now what was I going to feed my family?

Thankfully I had a feeling before I put in my last Azure Standard order that I needed to get some “easy” foods. Looking back I see it was God’s provision! Without these food we would have had a tough time feeding 4 hungry children. Keep in mind that we almost NEVER have boxed cereal…it is just not something we do. But we did make an exception for these “healthier” cereals, and I am so glad we did! So here are some ideas of what we ate for our meals.

BREAKFAST
Envirokidz Cocoa Crisps with Almond Milk
Envirokidz Gorilla Crunch with Almond Milk
-Pumpkin Bread made with Pamela’s Baking Mix (we used Grandma’s stove to bake this bread…thank you, Grandma!!! I made 2 loaves to last us a couple of days.)

LUNCH
-Homemade Peanut Butter & Jelly on Rice Cakes
Cheese & Crackers
-Hummus & Crackers
Yogurt & Fruit

DINNER (this was the trickiest meal of them all)
Hamburgers on the grill with salad and chips
-Breakfast for dinner (pancakes on the griddle made with Pamela’s Baking Mix, bacon, sausage, and watermelon)
-Hobo Packets (ground beef, potatoes, onions, carrots, and steak sauce wrapped in foil and cooked on the grill)
-Grilled Chicken Salad (thank goodness our kids actually enjoy eating salad!)

We survived without a stove, and the best part is I have a wonderful new convection stove now that I LOVE!!! So if you had to live without a stove for a few days, what type of foods would you eat?

*Clip art courtesy of http://etc.usf.edu/clipart/.

