Raising Boys by Design {a review}

Raising boys can be tough…really tough. As a woman it is hard for me understand all of the whys behind the actions of my boys. If you ever feel this same way then I highly recommend you check out the book Raising Boys by Design: What the Bible and Brain Science Reveal About What Your Son Needs to Thrive by Gregory L. Jantz and Michael Gurian.

Reading through this book is like having your own personal guide through the thought process and actions of boys. It covers all of the most challenging topics in raising boys including self-discipline, sexuality, emotions, education, technology, all with the purpose of training them to be a HERO (an acronym they explain throughout the book).

There is a great chapter that discusses how important a rite of passage from a boy to a man really is, and that is something I had never considered before. The authors work together to give parents the tools they need to raise strong, godly young men.

Although Caspian is only 10, I am already seeing signs of him growing into a young man. There are so many things I don’t understand about male behavior, and it is very obvious to me that God did create male and female differently. This book has equipped me with some very necessary tools to navigate my way through some of these behaviors, and nurture our relationship at the same time.

My favorite part of this book was when the authors go through 11 different rules to make faith work for boys. There are so many young adults that leave the church and these rules will lead us in the right direction to help prevent that from happening with our own children.

This is a great read not only for parents of boys, but anyone who may be in a position of mentoring boys, whether that be through church, school, or just in your extended family. You will be blessed with the knowledge you will gain through this book!

Here is a free glimpse of the book for you to look at if you are considering buying the book.

 

*I was blessed to receive this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.*

