The Homemaker’s Mentor {review and GIVEAWAY!}

header

Call me old-fashioned, but one of my goals in life is to become a great homemaker. You know the kind of homemaker I mean…the wife and mother that is always prepared with delicious meals and a tidy home that is welcoming to anyone that may enter. It can be hard to find worthwhile products that will help me not only achieve this goal, but also equip me with the skills to pass them onto my children.

Well, I found a very worthwhile source that can take me down the road to becoming a great homemaker. It is a collection of vintage books and materials called the Homemaker’s Mentor. The kids and I have had so much fun working on some of the projects and recipes from this CD. We have done several homemaking projects (including cooking and sewing) and have only begun to sample all of the wonderful books contained! Below are some of the covers of the books included in this collection.

mini-lessoncovers-4rows

As we scrolled through many of the books, I had my kids pick out some things that looked interesting to them. So they chose a few of the projects…and a few of them I chose too:) There are so many good things we weren’t even able to do yet! Thank goodness we have the CD to keep because we will be using it A LOT! We are using the lessons in a type of “homemade” homemaking class that is directed by the interests of the kids. Here is a little sampling of some of the projects we completed.

Fruit Leather

This is the first time I have ever made Fruit Leather, and it turn out really well! I let the kids pick out what type of fruit they wanted, which ended up being a combination of fresh and frozen. This is one snack I am happy to give the kids!

coconut fudge

I have never been what you would call a candy maker. But when I saw a recipe for Coconut Fudge, I knew I needed to try it…I love all things coconut! My only problem was that I didn’t have a candy thermometer. So the “fudge” turned out more like the world’s best coconut macaroon! I added some melted chocolate to the top too:)

Embroidery

The actual patterns in the embroidery book were a little too much for kids just starting, so we made up our own and used the techniques from the book to complete them. What a great exercise in fine motor skills! Too bad Caspian’s “good luck” embroidery wasn’t enough for the Cleveland Indians to win:(

Sweet potato souffle

This Sweet Potato Souffle tasted more like a dessert than a side-dish! It went perfect with our dinner of glazed salmon and broccoli. We will be bringing this recipe out again…especially for the holidays!

quilt

Aurora was so excited to help make a quilt! She is planning on using it with the American Girl doll she is hoping to get for her birthday present in a few weeks. She helped me cut the pieces, arrange them, trim the thread, and put it all together. She loves it!

granola

Oh, the yummy granola! The CD has several different recipes for granola, including one made just for Caspian. Why? It has no raisins! The boy does not like raisins at all. So this was one of his favorites. We did add a few chocolate chips because you just can’t have peanut butter without a little bit of chocolate…right?

*ADDED BONUS*

Thanks to the generosity of Jim Erskine, the man behind The Homemaker’s Mentor, I am going to give you the recipe for this granola! If you like peanut butter, it is sure to be a hit!

POPPEE’S NUT BUTTER GRANOLA

Mix in a large saucepan and mix and heat until all combined and melted on medium heat:

*1/2 cup expeller pressed coconut oil

*1/2 cup butter

*2 cups crunchy peanut butter

*2 cups brown sugar (I did reduce this a bit)

*1/2 cup water

*3 tsp. vanilla

Put 6 cups of old-fashioned rolled oats + 6 cups of quick-style oats in a large bowl. Pour the warm peanut butter mixture over and mix well with a large heavy spoon. Place mixed granola into a greased large roasting pan. Bake at 325 degrees for 20-30 minutes stirring once. Cool and store in a sealed container on the shelf. Refrigeration not needed. Stays fresh approximately 2-3 weeks in a sealed container.

So have I convinced you yet that you will love this CD?! The price for this great collection all on 1 convenient CD will be $37 with free shipping (regular $47) until October 18th.

But, I am also giving away a FREE CD to 2 lucky people in a giveaway!!! Just click on the link below for a chance to win! (If you don’t live in the US, the files will be sent as a zip. file instead of a CD-Rom.)

You can also enter for a chance to win the MEGA-GIVEAWAY…valued at over $400!

Click here or on the picture below!

mega-giveawayHMM

Want to see what other reviewers thought (or enter for more chances to win a free copy of The Homemaker’s Mentor)?

Just click here!

The Homemaker's Mentor disclosure

12 thoughts on “The Homemaker’s Mentor {review and GIVEAWAY!}

  1. My daughter has been begging to learn to sew, so the embroidery book would be my favorite 🙂 fingers crossed

  2. The book on dried beans sounds good. I am always on the lookout for a good bean recipe as they are so cheap and healthy, but yet not my favorite thing to eat. I am trying to like them more.

    • That is one of the books on my list of “things to do”:) Beans are one of the most frugal foods around, but I completely understand not liking them…I have a husband that is not a fan either!

Comments are closed.