Our Monthly Order from Our Favorite Co-op (December 2013)

Azure Standard Order: December 2013

We are so blessed to be a part of a wonderful co-op: Azure Standard. This would not be possible without all of the hard work of a very special trucking company, Covenant Ranch Trucking. As a way to say “thank-you” to them, I am trying to spread the word about all of the healthy food and products they make available to us each month. Every time we order, my plan is to share with you not only what we order, but also a little bit of how we use each product.

We had a big order this month…it was like an early Christmas present for me! The picture above is not the best, but I had to keep the kids out of the room since this order included some stocking-stuffers for them:)

Here is what we ordered:

Coral Kids Berry Bubble Toothpaste– The kids give this toothpaste 2 thumbs up! They all enjoy it, and they can be pretty picky when it comes to toothpaste.

Ivory Teff Grain– I plan to use this gluten-free grain when I start experimenting with a gluten-free sourdough bread. This grinds up very easily in a coffee grinder, or you can also just buy the teff flour.

Raw Cacao Powder– I have heard that cacao powder tastes better than cocoa powder…it is true! I love to mix this powder with some fresh berries, a little bit of stevia, and some greek yogurt. It makes a quick, tasty, healthy treat.

Raspberry Leaf Tea– This is one of the best herbal teas for women to drink regularly. And it tastes great too!

Redmond’s Real Salt– My favorite kind of salt and the only one I will use. It is very tasty and also filled with natural minerals.

Bulk Pecans– All of the nuts I have ordered from Azure have been the highest quality. These are no exception. I love pecans and these have great flavor.

Organic Sweet Potatoes– If you don’t think you like sweet potatoes, these may change your mind. I don’t think I ordered enough because I will go through these pretty quickly:)

Bragg’s Apple Cider Vinegar– I find new uses for this vinegar every month. It keeps me healthy in so many ways! By far, the best apple cider vinegar I have ever used.

Stainless Steel Drinking Straws– Finally we won’t have to keep buying (and throwing away) plastic straws! These even come with a tool to clean them in case that concerns you.

Organic Carrots– Azure has great prices on their organic produce. These carrots are great and last a long time. They make a great snack for the kids.

5-HTP– This supplement is supposed to help with mood and appetite. I will let you know how it works:)

Daiya Cream Cheese and Cheddar Shreds– Since I am trying to stay away from dairy (except for yogurt) I ordered these to try for those times when I want the creaminess of dairy. I tried the cheddar shreds in a omelet this morning and they were very good!

Persimmons- We are trying this fruit for the first time, and I have heard they are delicious! I have a few recipes waiting to use these with. Unfortunately, there is a very short window for these and they are not currently available.

Sweet Leaf Clear Liquid, Chocolate Raspberry– These stevia drops smell wonderful! They add great flavor to drinks, yogurt, and desserts.

Coconut Palm Sugar– This sugar is a great alternative to regular sugar that is also low-glycemic. It doesn’t have the negative effects on my body that most sugar substitutes (besides stevia) have.

Coconut Aminos– Since soy and I are not friends, these coconut aminos work very well as a soy sauce substitute. Hurray for Chinese food without a stomach ache!

Sprouted Brown Rice Flour– I will be using this to make gluten-free sourdough. Sprouted flour is supposed to be easier to digest too.

Potato Starch–  Most gluten-free flours need a starch to hold them together, so this will be used in the sourdough bread too.

Juice-grade Organic Apples– Don’t let the name fool you…these apples are perfect for eating. A few of them may have a small bad spot or two, but I am more than willing to cut those out when I can get 20 pounds of organic apples for $12! They would also be great for making applesauce or apple butter.

4 Color Peppercorns– Azure has some great prices on spices. We love fresh-cracked pepper and this mix of colors is really good.

Amy’s Soups– It is so great to have a few cans of soup in the cupboard when you need a quick, healthy, and warm meal. This month I am trying Black Bean Vegetable Chili and Split Pea Soup (both are organic and gluten free!).

Annie’s Gluten Free Macaroni & Cheese– The kids couldn’t believe I actually bought boxed Macaroni & Cheese! But, Annie’s has real ingredients, and these noodles are gluten-free. Everyone wins!

Hyland’s Calm’n Restful 4 Kids– A great homeopathic remedy for restless kids. My kids seem to be having trouble calming down in the evening since we aren’t outside as much getting rid of all of the energy. I tried these with them last night, and they all slept very well! Hopefully that will continue.

The stocking stuffers (some extra special treats for the kids that we don’t buy very often): Oatmeal Snackimals, Annie’s Bunny Shape Cocoa & Vanilla Cookies, Jovial Vanilla Cream Filled Chocolate Cookies, and Enjoy Life Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies. I might have to sneak a few of these while filling the stockings:)

There is such a great variety of products that are offered through Azure Standard. We are so happy to be a part of their co-op. If you have a drop near you I would highly recommend you give them a try. Check out this post if you need some extra help in getting started with Azure Standard.

 

